top of page

THE GRASS AIN’T GREENER ON THE OTHER SIDE – RAPPER ESKAE AMIGO EXPLAINS IT ALL

“Being an artist is challenging, everywhere, no matter the location.” These were words from the Rapper’s mouth after we got the chance to ask him, how was being an artist in a foreign land like?


Many upcoming and already developed artists crave to try their luck in the land of opportunities that is South Africa. Vast as it is, so is the entertainment industry. Many have left Eswatini for South Africa including the likes of Nomalungelo Dladla, Sandz, Nothando Hlophe to name a few, but many have failed.


Eskae Amigo is a Eswatini born and bred rapper whose real name is Skhumbuzo. He is one of those musicians who, when his music career was at the peak, decided to leave the country and pursue his music career in South Africa. “Me leaving wasn’t really planned because that time I was at the peak. I had the most radio airplays, tv, newspapers, performances and all that” the rapper said. “I was asked to come to South Africa by Flame Masco, also from Eswatini, who was also part of the stable which I was part of” he continued.


Eskae Amigo left behind a whole life including friends, family and university. When I asked how did the decision to leave come about the rapper responded, “After I met the guys I was going to work with, that when I actually decided. I said to myself, you know what I think it better I continue this side and push this side. At that time, I was in varsity but I left.” This rapper meant want he was doing and wanted. It takes faith and courage to give up everything like family and education for something you have no idea if it is going to work or not.




In Eswatini, Eskae Amigo built a legacy which he also left behind. He toped the television and radio charts, performed in major events and even collaborated with a number of music icons including the popular Emisofly. However, he does not regret going to South Africa but appreciate it because according to him, it changed his music career for the better. “Coming this side changed my music for the better because like I said, not only I am in a different position now in terms of the hustle but also in terms of the art, in terms of the music because I got to meet and work with people who've got different quality and skills that I may never had been exposed to when I was in Swaziland. And also, I got to know a lot, like I’m more informed about the music, the game and the admin of the music” the rapper said.


In South Africa, the rapper is moving city to city making a name for himself. Eskae Amigo has performed alongside South Africa’s biggest Artists after he moved to Nelspruit, Mpumalanga in 2015. This includes Kwesta, Casper Nyovest, Reason, Dj Tira, A-Reece to name a few. Even though the competition in the entertainment industry in South Africa is intense, the rapper does however invite fellow Emaswati musicians to go there and try their luck but they must be cautious. “For artists who are eager to come this side I’d say firstly work on your craft the most, make sure it on point, make sure it in standard because there’s too much competition out here. You don’t want to come here and your stuff cannot compete. And also, be informed about the admin of the music, know where to register your music and how to register your music before you get this side because there’s vultures out here. If you don’t have your paper work in order, you gonna get robbed of your royalties and stuff.”




“Keep close the people who are also from Swaziland when you are this side” the rapper Emphasized. Most of Eswatini rappers forget their roots once they are in South Africa. According to rapper Eskae Amigo, real love will always be with the people who had to see you rise from the ground and most of the support will come from them. “I miss the genuine Love I got from the people in Swaziland” the rapper delightfully commented.


Eskae Amigo recently released the track “Kwazi Bani on all music platforms. In this track, he features South African duo Eleven AllDay, which comprises of boodakele and Jack Tee. All along the rapper was keeping things provincially because most of the people he knew were from Mpumalanga. However, he has raised his standards and have started to work with artists on a national level. He is currently residing in Nelspruit and will soon be working on an album which he is still to publicize more details about it. He also promises to release more music and visuals and attend to performances very soon.



0 comments

Comments


Please remember to subscribe

bottom of page